Québec City is a charming place to enjoy a quaint historic old town that screams more Europe than North America. Founded by Samuel de Champlain in 1608, the British invaded and ended the colony of New France here in 1759.
The centerpiece is the Upper Town's Chateau Frontenac, which was built to attract rail travelers in the late 19th century and continues to be a hotel today with 611 rooms. Previous distinguished guests included King George VI, Queen Elizabeth, Princess Grace of Morocco, Charles de Gaule, and Chiang Kai Shek, while Winston Churchill attended conferences here during World War II.
The interiors are very classy but not opulent or over the top. Plenty of tourists were here admiring the designs and gold-plated sections.
It is possible to enjoy lovely views of the St. Lawrence River for free instead of staying at the luxury hotel. The Terrasse Dufferin's wide boardwalk was built by Lord Dufferin in 1878.
The best way to explore Upper Town is by foot, going into the side streets to peek at the architecture and restaurants.
Along rue St-Louis, notice this cannonball lodged inside the tree trunk. Legend has it it landed here in 1759 and the tree has grown around it since.
Edifice Price's 17 stories of art deco was built in 1929 and its top floors are used as a residence by the provincial premier.
Place de l'Hotel-de-Ville is a nice modern square fronted by imposing historic buildings.
La Basilique-Cathedrale Notre-Dame is historically significant,being the first cemetery in the city, where 20 bishops and 4 New France governors are buried.
From here, it is an easy downhill walk to the Lower Town, which fronts the St. Lawrence River. This was the old port area where French merchants traded, but fell into disrepair in the late 19th century, only to be revitalized in the 1960s.
To get back uphill the easy way, there is a funicular that connects the 2 parts.
This section is mostly a shopping area with lots of interestingly-decorated storefronts to capture your attention.
Place Royale was once the wealthy merchant quarter. The threat of British invasion forced residents to move further uphill in Upper Town, only to flourish once again in the British era. The Eglise Notre-Dame-des-Victoires was named to honour the Virgin Mary for helping the French defeat 2 British invsions in 1690 and 1711. Built in 1688, it is the city's oldest church.
Wallpaper of Canadian bank notes provided by : The Bank of Canada